My Sunday at Book Con 2017

While my Saturday at Book Con 2017 was amazing, my Sunday at Book was even more incredible. This was my first time attending both days of the convention (I only went to the Saturday of Book Con 2015), so I was looking forward to seeing what Sunday was all about. My mom and I entered the Queue Hall of the Javits Center around 8:30 in the morning, and we were able to get into a separate line for the Sarah J. Maas signing. At 10:00, my line was brought right up to the autographing area, Sarah and Papa Maas ready for signing. This was my second time meeting Sarah, and we both fangirled over Charlie Bowater’s latest A Court of Thorns and Roses artwork as she signed my copy of Crown of Midnight.

IMG_4586.jpg

After Sarah’s signing, I headed straight to the Penguin booth and I received a ticket for E.Lockhart’s signing of Genuine Fraud. I’m so happy that I was able to meet E. Lockhart because I loved We Were Liars and The Disreputable History Frankie Landau-Banks, and Genuine Fraud is one of my most anticipated releases of fall 2017.Since I was one of the first people in line, I also received a makeup bag with an awesome quote from the book (pictured below).Right after that signing, I met my mom at a smaller booth and got in line for Meg Kassel’s Black Bird of the Gallows. While I waited an hour or so for the book, it was really awesome to meet Meg because she was so excited that I had been anticipating her book, as it was her first novel. She was even more happy when one of my friends in line asked for a photo with her!

FullSizeRender 2.jpg

As you’re probably starting to tell, Sunday was alllll about running about from signing to signing for me. Right after Meg Kassel’s signing, I headed right to the best part of my day—Marie Lu’s autographing. Like Sarah J. Maas, Marie Lu is one of my all-time favorite authors, as the Legend trilogy  is one of my all-time favorite series and I plan on rereading The Young Elites and continuing that series very soon. This was my second time meeting Marie, and I loved meeting her once again. She’s just such a kind and super-sweet person, which you can easily tell anywhere talking to her in person or following her social media accounts (she stays up-to-date on current events, author news, and more). While Marie signed my copies of Legend, Prodigy, and The Young Elites, one of the topics we talked about was the craziness of her Warcross signing on Saturday and how I unfortunately couldn’t get a ticket for the event. After she finished signing my last book, she told me that she happened to have a copy of Warcross in her bag AND SHE WANTED ME TO HAVE IT AND SHE GAVE ME IT! I was completely blown away, and as I felt tears in my eyes. I told her that she absolutely made my weekend (not to mention, MY LIFE).

FullSizeRender (1).jpg

Soon after, I met back up with my mom at the Owlcrate booth, where we both received tote bags and little 2017 calendars. We took some time for a bathroom and snack break, where we both freaked out over Warcross (my mom even cried, guys), and then we spilt up again, my mom headed to Jeff Kinney’s signing for my sister and I made my way to Adam Silvera’s signing. I loved reading Adam’s More Happy than Not and History is All You Left Me, and I’m so pumped for They Both Die at the End to come out this fall. While he signed my copy of History is All You Left Me, we talked about his soon-to-be appearance on Flea Market Flip—I read this on Twitter, as Adam is also another great author to follow on Twitter.

After taking one last lap around the showfloor, my mom and I called it a day and thus my Book Con 2017 was over. To be honest, after having an amazing time at Book Con 2015, I was a bit nervous about how my Book Con 2017 would go. I ended up having an incredible time at Book Con this year, from meeting so many authors to receiving 14 free books to meeting bookish people and more!

I didn’t realize how many amazing books were coming out this fall 2017 until I went to Book Con. If there was one fall 2017 release you could have right now, what would it be?? Let me know in the comments below!

10 thoughts on “My Sunday at Book Con 2017

  1. That was so sweet of Marie Lu giving you warcross. I did not get a tickets but someone wanted to trade a book I had an extra copy of at the end of the day and end up with Warcross. So we both luck out with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] month in general. Earlier in the month, I attended Book Con 2017, and I recapped my Saturday and Sunday at the convention on the blog. I left Book Con with 18 books (at least I bought another bookcase in […]

    Like

  3. That’s amazing that Marie gave you a Warcross arc! She’s just amazing and the nicest person. Have you been able to read Warcross yet? What did you think? I LOVED it! And Sarah J Mass is really nice too, she lives near where I do and comes to my local bookstore a lot! I’m glad you were able to meet her! And as for my most anticipated fall release…. hmm, there are so many! Probably Renegades by Marissa Meyer though, I’m a huge fan of her books and this one sound amazing! Great post, it sounds like you had an awesome time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I read Warcross back in June, I couldn’t let it sit for too long! I loved it so much, I’m in love with Emika and Hideo and JUST EVERYTHING ABOUT THAT BOOK MAKES MY HEART SO HAPPY! I’m going to have my review up around release date next month.

      And I’m so looking forward to Renegades too! There are ARCS available now and I would love it if one could fall into my hands!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my gosh, same! I literally started Warcross as soon as I got back to my hotel that night haha. It was incredible, definitely my favorite read of the year so far!! Emika and Hideo were the best!!

        I saw that there were Renegades arcs!! I would sell my soul for one honestly, I entered the giveaway so fingers crossed!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment