Book Tag, Books

The Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag

Lately, I’ve been in the mood to write some more book tags, so you may sense my excitement when Danielle from Life of a Literary Nerd tagged me to do the Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag!

burnreread.jpg

How to:

  • Randomly choose three read books (most people who have done the tag randomize their “read” shelf on Goodreads—go to sort > Random)
  • Choose one book to kill, one book to rewrite, and one book to reread

Round 1:

Burn: Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse. I had to read this for English class in high school and while I wrote a paper and gave a presentation all about love and symbolism, it was one of my least favorite high schools reads.

Rewrite: Vicious by V.E. Schwab – IT’S FATE I TELL YOU. Frankly, the only reason I would rewrite this book would be to make it even LONGER so I could have more time with Victor and Mitch and Dol and just everyone.

Reread: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson. The 13 Little Blue Envelopes series was one of the first young-adult series that I ever read and loved, so I hold both books close to my heart. In The Last Little Blue Envelope, Ginny continues her journey around Europe inspired by letters from her aunt. 

Round 2:

Burn: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. One of my more unpopular opinions, The Raven Boys was one of my least favorite reads of 2016. I had trouble following the story, as I often found the plot slow-moving and confusing and I couldn’t connect with any of the characters. 

Rewrite: Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins. I love all of the books in The Hunger Games trilogy, but Catching Fire was my least favorite read (even though it was my favorite movie out of the four). While I enjoyed the premise, I felt like it took forever to get back into the Games.

Reread: Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour was my first Morgan Matson book  and like many, I absolutely loved it. Another perfect summer contemporary read!

FullSizeRender.jpg

Round 3:

Burn: It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover. While I enjoyed It Ends With Us, I’ve become disenchanted with a lot of Colleen Hoover’s work. 

Rewrite: Wayfarer by Alexandra BrackenIf I rewrote Wayfarer, I would add in more chapters from Etta’s perspective and some chapters told from the side characters, such as Sophia and Lin. I would possibly take out Nicholas’s chapters, as I really wasn’t interested in his perspective. 

Reread: The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians #5) by Rick Riordan. I really enjoyed reading the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series back in 2015 and I wouldn’t mind any of the books, like The Last Olympian, before diving into The Trials of Apollo (At this moment in time, I don’t have much interest in picking up The Heroes of Olympus series). 

Round 4:

Burn: Thirty Sunsets by Christine Hurley Deriso. I don’t really remember reading this book too much, and I think it was a pretty plain summer contemporary.

Rewrite: Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys. Again, another book that I would rewrite only to make LONGER so I could have more time with this fascinating story

Reread: A Mango-Shaped Space by Wendy MassA Mango-Shaped Space was part of required summer reading in middle school, and I just love this book so much (it’s probably one of my most reread novels). 

Time for tagging! I tag Ashna from Stories & Snaps and Annike and Zoë from Twin Tales, and of course, anyone who wants to do the Burn, Reread, Rewrite Tag!

Once I do a book tag, I just want to do even more! Let me know about some other book tags in the comments!

4 thoughts on “The Burn, Rewrite, Reread Tag”

Leave a Reply

