Book Reviews, Books

Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J.Maas

If this review is up, then that means that I have conquered the beast that is A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas. The latest installment in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series, which is no longer a trilogy (!!!), is a whooping 699 pages long— even though the physical hardcover doesn’t look like it because Bloomsbury has made Sarah’s longer books with thinner pages for the sake of the environment. I’m all about being eco-friendly and I love trees, but if I read a book that is 700 pages long, I want that book to look like a monster!! **Warning: there will be spoilers in the my thoughts section of this review**

Cover Lust? : This is my favorite cover in the series so far because I love Feyre’s dress and the mountains in the background. However, I wish the green, at least on the spine, was a bit darker so it could match up with A Court of Thorns and Roses and A Court of Mist and Fury’s darker color tones.

My Rating: 4.5/5 stars

My Thoughts:

I made it my goal to read at least one hundred pages per day, which I succeeded in doing so after reading ACOWAR in five days. It was quite easy to do so because there were many moments where I just couldn’t put the book down. For example, during the meeting with all of the courts (my favorite part in the book), I stayed up past my bedtime because I was so enchanted by the new characters we meet and the tension in the meeting. Outside of the Night Court, my favorite court is hands-down the Winter Court because of Viviane. She just felt so human, and she brought a lot of humor to the situation. I love when she asks her husband why she can’t be High Lady like Feyre. I also really enjoyed her friendship with Mor.

My favorite character in ACOWAR is most definitely Nesta. Nesta is willing to do anything to protect Elain, and I feel like her protectiveness was really evident after Graysen breaks his engagement with Elain. Feyre even fears what Nesta may do to him for breaking Elain’s heart. Nesta reminds me of Angelica Schuyler from Hamilton, willing to do anything for her sister. I also enjoyed seeing her try to figure out her power and train with Amren, and her sass was to die for. I wish we got to see her relationship with Cassian further, and I loved every scene where they interacted together. Even though they’re not official, they are my favorite OTP in the series.

Overall, I really enjoyed reading ACOWAR, however, I feel very conflicted about the ending, which prevented me from giving the book a 5 out of 5 stars. The final battle just had so many ups and downs. I was so happy when Elain and Nesta murdered King Hybern, as I believe that they are the two most haunted individuals in the series after their experience in the Cauldron. Yet, I was so confused by Amren potentially betraying the Court (she ultimately doesn’t) and how the Cauldron controlled Feyre. I think a lot of my confusion came from waiting for some sort of real action or resolution. I totally called Rhysand dying, however, I did not know if he would come back to life (which he does). While I am happy that all of the Court of Dreams survived, I feel like someone shouldn’t have lived, considering that this was one of the biggest wars in Fae history. In general, a lot of things just feel unresolved, which may be the point as Sarah releases more books in the ACOTAR world. Are Nesta and Cassian actually going to be a couple or mates? Is Mor going to confess her true feelings and sexuality to Azriel and the gang? Also, is she going to end up with Viviane’s sister?? Sarah doesn’t name her until the very end, which I don’t know if Sarah wrote it that way or if she’ll have a larger role to play in the rest of the series. Is the mating bond between Lucien and Elain going to snap into the place? I could also see Azriel and Elain being a couple as well!! And what about the queens, how is that going to play into the new treaty??? Like I said before, ACOWAR is 699 pages long and while there is never a dull moment, certain components could have been taken out in order to provide some more resolution. Call me impatient, but I really don’t want to have to wait a year+ to find out more, especially since ACOWAR was originally supposed to be a trilogy conclusion. While I consider Sarah as one of my favorite and go-to authors and I adore the worlds she creates, I’m not feeling too excited right now about more ACOTAR books. I’m hoping my feelings will change as we get more details about the series (right now, there is supposed to be three more books and two novellas).

Have you read A Court of Wings and Ruin?? Share your thoughts and reactions in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J.Maas”

  1. Pingback: What I Read in May
  2. Pingback: Summer Book Tag

Leave a Reply

