“Riverdale”Talk: Episode 7: “In a Lonely Place”

Episode Synopsis: After Polly escapes from Quiet Mercy, the tension between the Blossoms and the Coopers increases even more as each family hunts down Polly. Meanwhile, Archie convinces Fred to give Jughead’s dad, FP, his job back at the construction company. Jughead encourages FP to take the job and clean up his act so their family can get back together. Keeping up with the Lodges, Veronica is still angry at Hermione for her relationship with Fred and forging her name on the drive-in contract for Fred’s company.

My Thoughts: This episode put a really big emphasis on Jughead and his strained relationship with his dad. My heart shattered when we learned that Jughead was living in a stairwell closet in Riverdale High. I wish Archie had taken him in sooner, you know, before Jughead is forced to go to the police station! While I definitely don’t believe that Jughead was Jason’s murderer, I’m not entirely convinced that he wasn’t involved at all in the murder. Thanks to Archie’s wait, whatttt facial expressions, Fred wasn’t too convincing when he tells Sheriff Keller that Jughead was doing work for him the week of the murder. My suspicion grew more when the camera pans to Jason’s varsity jacket in FP’s closet at the end of the episode. I had my own wait, whatttt moment this episode when it’s revealed that FP is the Serpent doing business with Hermione. Since FP is part of this “wrong-side of the tracks” gang, it makes me wonder if he was doing some sort of business with Jason and got Jughead involved.

I was a bit annoyed by Betty’s willingness to share information about Polly with the Blossoms.Betty, here’s a tip: if you’re going to talk about your sister who’s being hunted down by half the town and who’s pregnant with her dead boyfriend’s baby and said boyfriend is related to your family’s biggest enemy, please don’t discuss the matter in the student lounge. It’s obvious by the Blossoms’ demeanor throughout the episode that they just want the baby and will do anything to put Polly out of the equation. I was really intrigued by Cheryl’s change of heart about Polly and the baby. I think that Cheryl is motivated by the fact that this is Jason’s baby and she doesn’t want her parents’ untrustworthy hands in the matter. I’m happy that Polly is safe staying with the Veronica and Hermione, but how long is that going to last without the Coopers finding out? In regard to the Lodges, I really wasn’t a fan of Veronica’s brat attack in this episode. I think there’s a better way to resolve issues with your mother without having an online shopping spree and going clubbing with your gay best friend. Also, why does the label ‘gay best friend’ even exist in this show??? I’m really hoping that we get more character development about Kevin (show that he’s more than the gay best friend) in the second half of the season.

My Rating: 4/5 stars. I really enjoyed that the plot focused more on Jughead in this episode because we got to see more of his character and background. However, being a fan of the comic book series, I’m still unsure of his emerging relationship with Betty. While I love them as best friends, I don’t know how well I could see them as a couple. We could also tell that Archie may or may not be cool with this relationship and I’m sure we’ll see his feelings play out more when ‘Riverdale’ returns on March 30.

What do you think about Jughead’s possible role in Jason’s death? Share your ‘Riverdale’ comments below!

Author: fangirlfury

Most likely to be found in Barnes and Noble.

Leave a Reply

